Photo Shoot.

I had been cooped up all week, sculpting a tabletop-sized figure in clay.

img_1795

U. S. Marine woman. The first sculpt in a military series by Dark Oak Creations (I don’t always do Spooky).

Working small always tests my work ethic. Some sculptors can work in miniature and love it. Me, I love to sculpt, but my style and nature wants big, expansive gestures. So when, after four days of being diligent, good boy sculptor, my wife announces she’s working from home on Friday, there was only one thing to do.

Road trip! 

Wilderness Photo Shoot.

After taking my wife to lunch (I’m not stupid), I loaded the props up and set out for the woods.

It was 63 degrees Friday afternoon. In Missouri, in mid-February, the first thing I see as I  step into the field is a snake. A freaking little stripped snake slithering out of my path. I chose to take this as a good omen instead of worrying about Global Warming.

Field work always takes much more time than I think it will. I did not get to all the locations I had in-mind. I did manage to get some “shooting” accomplished. Enjoy.

dscf0101

Monster in the slough. Dark Oak Creations.

dscf0120

Monster in the slough with places to go.

 

dscf0138

Stay out of these woods, kids.

img_1787

“Somebody back east is sayin’ “Why don’t he write?”– Tmmons, from Dances with Wolves.

img_1767

Stake out.

Sometimes, I get the urge to leave some of my less expensive props on site, or even stage them at some particular location (not where auto traffic could see it, though. Don’t want accidents). I’m sure I am not the first prop artist to feel this impish impulse.

Perhaps, one day, one evening, when the sun is dying on the horizon and the purple dusk creeps from the shadowed wood, I will give in to that sibilant whisper. Yes, perhaps the whispering imp will seduce me, and I leave a Horrible peeking from behind a tree in the park.

End.

Leave a Reply

