Christmas Gift Horror.

Amid the Christmas morning carnage a gift surfaced that warmed the toes of my soul.  My daughter gave me a book that will wrap me in hours of inspiration and obsession.  “The Art of Horror,” an illustrated history edited by Stephen Jones, is a work of art in itself.

img_1522

The cover alone hooked me.  Inside, artworks of horror and themes monstrous fill the pages.  For a horror fan of word, film, and art, this book is a discovery of the best kind. It is a welcome addition to my studio bookshelf.

img_1523

As you can see from the Contents Page, the effort is comprehensive.  It runs from grade B horror flick posters to Lovecraft’s Cthulhu and is chocked full of classic as well as little-known horror art.

img_1525

This is good stuff.  I would show more but now I’m sidetracked and want to read the book.